SLPPs Sanath Nishantha, Saman Lal Fernando granted bail in GotaGoGama attack case

Reading now: 495

COLOMBO (News 1st); SLPP MP Sanath Nishantha, Moratuwa Mayor Samanlal Fernando, and another suspect who were arrested and remanded for attacking GotaGoGama on the 9th of May 2022, were ordered to be released on bail.The order was made by Fort Magistrate Thilina Gamage, and they were released on two personal bails of Rs.

10 Million each.Dan Priyasad, who was also arrested and remanded, was returned to remand custody until the 22nd of June.The Secretary to the Ministry of Public Security was ordered by the court to explain why the Attorney General’s directive to transfer Senior DIG Deshabandu Thennakoon, and institute disciplinary action against him, was not implemented.

The website is an aggregator of news from open sources. The source is indicated at the beginning and at the end of the announcement. You can send a complaint on the news if you find it unreliable.

Related News

Action against officials who fail to implement COPE decisions - - Sri Lanka
Action against officials who fail to implement COPE decisions
COLOMBO (News 1st); The Chairman of the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and Member of Parliament (Prof) Charitha Herath said that the Parliament will focus on taking special measures against officials who do not implement the recommendations and decisions made by COPE.He mentioned this at a special meeting of the Committee on Public Enterprises which was held in Parliament on Monday (04).The meeting was held especially with the participation of the members of the committee and the views of its members on 3 main issues were obtained.Accordingly, the review of the progress made pertaining to COPE investigations conducted during the period from February 23rd, 2022 to date was considered at the meeting.Accordingly, the Chairman of COPE stated that the investigations carried out during this period have been complied into a report and copies of the report have been given to the members of the committee.He further mentioned that the decisions related to several institutions including SriLankan Airlines, Central Bank of Sri Lanka, State Timber Corporation, People’s Bank, Development Lotteries Board, Building Materials Corporation, Litro Gas Lanka Limited and Litro Gas Terminal Lanka (Private) Limited were included in the report.The chairman of the committee further pointed out that certain reports related to certain decisions given by the committee have not yet been given to the committee by these institutions.The Members of Parliament who were present, pointed out that strict action should be taken against the officials who do not implement these decisions. They pointed out that the Parliament and the committee should intervene further regarding the matter.